Cucumber Salad

Gurkensalat

While I suppose this is more a summer dish, cucumber salad is really a comfort food to me, so I like it any time of year. The first time I had it, we lived in Germany. My brother made “gurkensalat” for his German class – an assignment to bring a traditional German dish. I loved it. Ever since then, this simple salad has been a staple in my house. I get the recipe from “German Cooking Today.”

Ingredients

This is the best spice mix--a German creation that's organic, non-GMO, gluten free, and delicious!

This is the best spice mix–a German creation that’s organic, non-GMO, gluten free, and delicious!

  • 2 medium cucumbers
  • 1 small sweet onion
  • 3 Tbsp. vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • about 1/2 Tbsp. pepper
  • about 1 Tbsp. spices
    • salt, oregano, dill, basil, garlic powder, etc. I used Seitenbacher Herb Salt, a combo of spices
  • about 1/2 Tbsp. sugar

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the vinegar, oil, and spices. You’ll definitely want pepper and salt, but the rest are up to you. My herb mix had oregano, basil, salt (so I didn’t add any extra), and thyme. If you like dill, that’s a good one to put in because it pairs well with cucumbers. Whatever your tastes are.
  2. Dice the onion and add to the vinegar dressing. Sprinkle about 1/2 Tbsp. of sugar over the onion (depending on your tastes, you can add more or less). Stir everything up and give it a taste. Add any additional spices/sugar you want now. Let the bowl sit in the fridge.
  3. Peel the cucumbers and chop each one in half, so it’s easier to slice them on the mandolin. You want thin slices of cucumber. You can do it with a knife if you feel confident in your ability to get even, consistent slices without chopping off a finger. I did not feel that way, so I used a mandolin.
  4. Stir the cucumbers into the dressing until everything is covered. Enjoy!

photo 5

I adore this salad. I ate mine with some cheese pizza, but it’s good with pretty much anything. You could probably add cherry tomatoes, and that’d be yummy, too! I hope you like it.

2 thoughts on “Cucumber Salad

Leave a Reply

